Learning to Accept Yourself: Astrological Edition

Self-acceptance is a much-needed and sometimes overlooked trait, but learning to master it will improve your life in ways you never thought possible. Without learning to accept yourself for who you are, you will never show others your true self. Shame and self-doubt require a mask to be worn, hiding parts of yourself that you’re afraid to share.

Everything that makes you who you are, however, should be celebrated and embraced by yourself before you can discover that you’re accepted and adored by those around you, as well.

Often, we play a loop of negativity in our head, especially when we make a mistake. The tape might sound like “You don’t do anything right,” or “You’re always screwing up things like this.”

Being our own worst critic seems to come naturally, and self-acceptance can mistakenly feel self-centered or corny; in fact, self-acceptance is beneficial for others as well as yourself. A positive, confident attitude gives you more resources to help and encourage others than does a shameful, self-loathing attitude.

How does astrology factor in on the journey toward self-acceptance? By understanding more about your sign’s traits, both positive and negative, you’ll be armed with more information about the nature of yourself.

Learning more about your natural tendencies should allow you to ease up on yourself a bit, and this article will help you discover tools for accepting yourself. Rather than focusing on each individual sign, we’ll be focusing on the elements of the zodiac, their influence on your personality, and how to use them as a means to assist you in accepting yourself for who you are.

There are four elements in astrology, including fire, earth, air and water. Each element has three signs associated with it, and while each sign is unique, the elements do have a significant effect on your personality.

Let’s take a look at the elements, the signs associated with them, and how to use them on your path to self-acceptance.


The signs associated with the element of fire are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. The people who fall under these signs have quite a bit of energy and can be very impulsive. You move quickly through life, with passion and vigor.

Your intense energy is sometimes overwhelming for other people, which can be a point of insecurity for you; you feel things passionate, albeit sometimes, briefly. You might start many projects, only to find your focus shifts before you finish them.

While you might feel a bit self-aware about some of your more negative qualities, you must remember how many wonderful personality traits you have. Your passionate, intense nature pushes you far in life and gives you the motivation to accomplish many, amazing achievements.

You are capable and intelligent, but your excitement and zest for life is what really sets you apart. You can achieve most any goal you put your mind to, and while your passions may shift, you don’t give up easily.

Embrace your feisty nature and make it work for you, your charm and wit will do the majority of the work for you.is what really sets you apart. You can achieve most any goal you put your mind to, and while your passions may shift, you don’t give up easily.


Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are the signs that fall under the element of earth. Your spiritual roots are buried deeply within the ground, which may result in a traditional or stagnant viewpoint. Dare we say, stubborn.within the ground, which may result in a traditional or stagnant viewpoint. Dare we say, stubborn.

You might feel like you’re a party pooper at times, or that you’re overly concerned with working hard and being responsible. While it is important to let loose from time to time, you should be proud of your hard working nature.

Yes, you can be a perfectionist; but, you know how to have a good time. And your hard work will pay off, if it hasn’t already. You see things through to the end, rarely giving up on a project.

Your tenacity and determination are impressive qualities that will bring you success, and are traits you should embrace and celebrate within yourself.

Make sure to take time for lighthearted play every once in a while, but remember that you have so many wonderful qualities that make you unique, crafty and more-than-worthy of self-acceptance. Embrace your inner nature and don’t let the frivolity of others discourage you from moving at your own pace.


Gemini, Libra and Aquarius make up the air signs, and you can see the correlation between the symbol of air and your intelligent, thoughtful minds. You are quick-witted and imaginative; while your intelligence helps you with many tasks in life, decision-making is not one of them.

You can get so caught up in weighing the options and mulling over the details, that you often take longer than you’d like when making a decision. You can sometimes be flighty as well, shifting gears and abandoning projects for new, more exciting ideas.

Your ability to find solutions, however, will generally save you from any hasty moves you’ve made. Your smarts and creativity are admirable, and you should be proud of what a fantastic mind you have.

Accept your quick-changing mind as part of being such an adaptable, fluid individual and embrace your wildly imaginative nature. What you lack in stick-to-it-iveness, you make up for in creativity and charm.


The signs that are associated with the element of water are Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. Water signs are intuitive, nurturing and emotional, but your emotions can sometimes take over. You might suffer from moodiness or sensitivity, which is particularly difficult to come to terms with in the name of self-acceptance.

Sometimes it feels like your heart is too heavy to be productive or accepting. You have so many amazing qualities though, water sign. Your creativity evokes a sense of emotion and depth that others can relate to. Your compassionate nature makes you a wonderful friend and lover.

You are mysterious and unique, and you should embrace every part of your fluid personality. It is well within your nature to go with the flow, so find your flow and lay back. Your self-acceptance starts with embracing and appreciating your emotional nature.

Self-acceptance is important for all of us, and any tool that assists us in achieving self-acceptance should be greatly appreciated. While self-love does not hinge on the use of astrology, it can be such a wonderful technique to find out more about yourself and learn to love every aspect of your being.

After you’ve made the decision to accept yourself for who you are, you will notice how much more confident and happy you feel. Embracing yourself is the first step on the path of your wonderful life.

About The Author

Rhiannon Liselle

Rhiannon Liselle is a nomadic Sagittarius with a passion for writing and trying to help others grow. She’s studied astrology for about 10 years, and has been writing about metaphysical, spiritual, and esoteric subjects for 3 years. Rhiannon lives in the mountains of Colorado, and loves drinking coffee and spending time with her coloring books.
Did You Enjoy This Article?
Please Share It With Your Friends!

You Might Also Be Interested In

ultimate guide to retrogrades article

Your ULTIMATE Guide to ALL Retrogrades

Retrogrades tend to be the first thing people learn about with astrology that scares the living daylights out of them.  But fear not!  Armed with some knowledge, retrogrades can be

Scroll to Top
Thank You and Welcome!

Be sure to check your email as we’ve sent you important information regarding your Daily Horoscope. Read below to learn more about your zodiac.