Tarot for Scorpio: Which Tarot Cards Represent Scorpio?

Scorpio season brings the Scorpionic energy to the fray – this is a time for upheaval and being honest with oneself and others, which can lead to sudden and shocking events that have the potential to turn our lives upside down. In Libra, our desire to keep things harmonious and balanced is strong. The downside to this period is that, in our desire for peace, we are more inclined to sweep things under the rug.

This all changes when Scorpio arrives. Just as Scorpio people cannot stand falsities and have a keen instinct for seeing beyond the superficial and getting to the heart of the matter, so does the energy of Scorpio. Some will embrace it with open arms; others will shrink back in fear. Whatever the reaction, Scorpio is always guaranteed to create a shake-up – and sometimes, a much-needed one. Checking out your Scorpio horoscope today and your Scorpio daily horoscope can provide even greater insight for those wishing to dig a little deeper into this intense sign.

Which Tarot Cards Represent Scorpio?

Scorpio is the sign of transformation, regeneration and death. But not the death that necessarily springs to mind (though it is true that many Scorpios tend to have a fascination with death!); it is the death of something in their lives that paves the way for a more fulfilling future.

This could be the death of a situation, an aspect of their character, a relationship, a career… think of the caterpillar that turns into a butterfly or a phoenix that rises from the ashes. This type of death, like the literal death, is rarely pleasant or easy – but it often paves the way for something better.

Scorpio in the Major Arcana: Death

Therefore, the card associated most with Scorpio in the Tarot is the Death card.

Scorpio is ruled by Pluto, lord of the underworld. Like Scorpio, the Death card represents all that death tends to encompass – in many Tarot decks, a skeleton in armour rides into town on a horse, showing little mercy to those who stand in his way. It shows that change is inevitable, whether we like it or not.

The Death card has a tendency to frighten many people because of its association with death itself, but once you get down to the meaning of the card, there is nothing to fear. Death and transformation are a part of life; everyone must go through them. As a Major Arcana card, Death represents sweeping change that we have little control over. We have two choices when it comes to death; we can ride the waves of change or we can resist. Whichever way we choose, change is coming so what we should focus on is how we can make this transformation easiest on ourselves.

This represents the life of Scorpio in general. Scorpio must die and be reborn many times throughout life in order to reach the highest point of their existence. Much of the theme of Scorpio is in learning to surrender to what is, rather than fighting back. This is not a sign of weakness, but rather an acceptance that the universe is looking after them, and that if they should trust in the universal forces, their trust will not be misplaced.

For who has control over death itself? None of us do. Not the richest, the most powerful, the most pious or the most devilish. In the eyes of death, we are all the same. The Death card represents the pain that Scorpio must endure; the skeletal figure represents what remains after death, a metaphor of our own survival once we undergo the necessary transformation.

More than any other sign and any other card, both Scorpio and Death highlight the necessity to endure pain and suffering in order that darkness may be transformed into light.

Scorpio in the Minor Arcana: 5 of Cups

In the Minor Arcana, the 5 of Cups represents Scorpio.

This is another card that is not always the most welcome in a Tarot spread. It often shows a grieving figure standing over spilled cups. The 5 of Cups represents grief, sorrow, regret and some kind of bereavement. The lesson of the 5 of Cups is a harsh one, but it is a lesson nonetheless.

If the person in the 5 of Cups should only look up from his devastation, he will see that two cups remain standing. Like Scorpio who must go through dark nights of the soul but retain that glimmer of hope within, no matter how small it is, the 5 of Cups show that the two cups standing prove that all is not lost. The dark time will pass and the figure shall be even stronger from their experience.

Read this next: A Guide to the 4 Tarot Suits

Where Have the Scorpio Cards Shown Up in Your Reading?

Scorpio season can produce some great upheavals in our life that many of us would prefer not to go through. But understanding the true concept of death, which is one of transformation and regeneration, can help us ride the waves of change, rather than continually resist them. The Death card is always more likely to appear when we know change must come, but one thing or another forces us to remain as we are. It is the Universe’s way of kicking us into gear.

Realizing that Death is not something to fear, but instead an opportunity for greater and brighter things to come our way is the first step towards an absence of fear and a stronger sense of self, regardless of the situation.

Related Article: Tarot & Journaling: A Magical Relationship

About The Author

Iberia Tor

Iberia Tor is a harmonious Libra Sun, Conflicted Scorpio rising, and a Tiger in the Chinese Zodiac.A whirlwind writer with a passion for Tarot cards and Astrology in all forms, she is fascinated by other realms and experiencing both the negative and positive that goes with its inhabitants. Sarah believes the imagination knows no boundaries; it is not just a gift, but a privilege also, one utilized as a tool of exploration to penetrate the very core of our existence.Iberia has authored three novels, and currently writes Astrology Answers’ Daily Money and Chinese Zodiac Horoscopes, as well as articles.
Did You Enjoy This Article?
Please Share It With Your Friends!

You Might Also Be Interested In

Scroll to Top
Thank You and Welcome!

Be sure to check your email as we’ve sent you important information regarding your Daily Horoscope. Read below to learn more about your zodiac.