Understanding the Planets in Astrology

When it comes to the planets, they each have their own distinct personalities and purposes. Each planet in our Universe is assigned to a zodiac sign and rules over certain aspects of your life. That’s why zodiac signs have their own personalities as well, they are ruled by one of these unique planets.

There are two kinds of planets, there are inner planets and outer planets.The inner planets are quicker and have a more direct impact on our day to day events. Those are the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, and Mars.

The outer planets (Jupiter, Pluto, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune) move more slowly through the zodiac, and will only change zodiac signs from one to every fifteen years.

Thus, the outer planets are the ones that have an impact on the overall theme of your life, and not so much your day-to-day affairs. Let’s have a look at each of these wonderful bodies in the solar system, and how they rule our everyday lives.

Related Article: How the Planets Rule Our Days of the Week


The fiery star in the sky that breathes life into all living things. It also defines your sun sign, or your ascendant sign. In other words, your self-expression and how the world sees you will depend on where the Sun rules in your life. The Sun rules the fire sign Leo and also the fifth house.


The Moon is the opposite of the Sun in terms of what it rules in your life. The Moon rules the parts of you that the world doesn’t see. Only a few close people in your life may see these qualities. The Moon rules the water sign of Cancer, the fourth house, and also your emotional undercurrents.


Mercury rules the air sign of Gemini and the 6th house. This makes it a very intellectual planet. It rules communication, transportation, thoughts, intelligence, and details. While Mercury does rule journeys and travel, it does so more with short journeys than long ones.


Ah, the infamous goddess of love and beauty. She rules values, security, how we relate to each other, and even sexual identity. Sweet Venus rules the second house and the earth sign of Taurus. She is also very good at ruling your money and financial matters as well.


Mars is the ruler of the first house and rules the fire sign of Aries. It rules sexual drive, and also your career ambition as well. Mars also rules the 8th house, or the house of the most sexually intense sign of the zodiac, Scorpio. Whatever area of your life Mars rules, you are doing it with zest and passion, and you won’t stop until you get what you want.


Jupiter is the optimistic benevolent planet, where you see Jupiter in your chart is where you are going to experience the most luck and generosity in your life. Jupiter rules the 9th house of Sagittarius. it also works to help you expand your consciousness and the ‘bigger picture’ aspect of life and love.


Saturn rules the 10th house of Capricorn and is the planet of limitations. Issues pertaining to your father may appear where Saturn shows up in your chart. Saturn also asks us to make sacrifices for the greater good.


Uranus is the planet of genius, giftedness, and talent that is exceptional. This is also a planet of radical thinking and rejection of the status quo. This planet rules the 11th house of Aquarius.


Dreamy Neptune rules Pisces and offers you an intuitive glimpse of the world. This is a highly spiritual planet that will challenge the way you see the world. Inspiration and creativity will be enhanced on days or aspects that are ruled by Neptune.


Pluto gets a bad rap. It is known as the planet of death and transformation and rules the intense 8th house or Scorpio. Any Scorpio will tell you there’s nothing wrong with that. Every beginning you experience in life must first come from an end. Pluto rules those endings to help you transition through life with ease.

Related Article: How to Understand Transit Periods of the Outer Planets

All of these planets have an influence on our lives. Some of them impact our day to day, like the Sun that rises every day, and the Moon that arrives every single night. Mercury, Mars, and Venus all travel quickly through the zodiac as well. They impact our work, communication, and play time from week to week.

The other planets, the outer planets of Jupiter, Saturn Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto all carry a bigger weight on the grand blueprint of our lives. What is your favorite planet and why?

About The Author


I consider myself part astrologer, part comedian, and part psychologist. I try to help people turn on their own inner observer, to see the things they say and do in an objective way. I have been in private practice for over 40 years. I use astrology and my own system called The 4 Elements as tools to help people step into their power. I want to empower people from all walks of life and I have written a book, magazine columns, hosted a radio show and I have a YouTube channel with over 3 million views to accomplish that goal. I’m dedicated to creating community.I believe the future is arriving and none of us can do it alone. I also believe in the power of listening. When we are silent - both with ourselves and each other - the messages that are trying to come through us can be given a voice, and we can all start walking our authentic and powerful path. I split my time between Kauai, Hawaii and Boulder, Colorado where I enjoy talking to the beautiful flowers, daily swims and laughing with my partner, Larry.You can keep up with Debra on our Video Horoscopes page - where she posts her Daily Horoscope videos for Astrology Answers!
Did You Enjoy This Article?
Please Share It With Your Friends!

You Might Also Be Interested In

Scroll to Top
Thank You and Welcome!

Be sure to check your email as we’ve sent you important information regarding your Daily Horoscope. Read below to learn more about your zodiac.