Colorful Connection: Chakras & the Zodiac

There are so many metaphysical tools and practices available to us that it can be hard to remember that many of these systems share an interesting relationship with one another.

Today, we’ll explore the mystical relationship between astrology, the language of the stars, and our body’s spiritual energy points, the chakras.

There are seven main chakras within the body, starting from the Root chakra and working up to the Crown chakra. Chakra means “spinning wheel” in Sanskrit which directly refers to how chakras are points of circulating energy that are always present. However, sometimes they may become blocked or stagnant. A clear, balanced chakra instills confidence, self-awareness, love, and gratitude, among many other wonderful things.

Astrology is the study of the stars and how they affect our lives. Understanding more about your natal chart helps you discover so many things about yourself and your life path, and there are always new avenues to explore within the zodiac.

Don’t have your chart? Get your free birth/natal chart here.

Did you know that each chakra is associated with specific zodiac signs? Astrology shares a connection to so many of the spiritual practices, tools, and natural objects of this world. Learning more about these connections helps solidify your own relationship with the zodiac, the Universe and yourself.

Chakras & the Zodiac

The Root Chakra

The Root chakra, also known as Muladhara, is located at the base of the spine. The Root chakra is associated with our feelings of security, stability, and how grounded we feel in the Earth. The Root chakra correlates with the color red and the planet Saturn. Saturn is the planet of responsibility and hard work, which ties into the Root chakra’s preoccupation with stability.

The astrological signs associated with this chakra are Capricorn and Aquarius. If you have a Capricorn or Aquarius Sun sign, Moon sign, or rising sign, this may be an important chakra to pay attention too—especially during times where you feel uptight, insecure (emotionally or physically), unstable, or directionless.

Focus on balancing your Root chakra to regain a sense of stability and confidence.

The Sacral Chakra

Svadhishthana, or the Sacral Chakra, is located in the lower part of the abdomen. The Sacral chakra is represented by the color orange, and it focuses on self-confidence, self-assurance, sexuality, and creativity. This chakra is associated with the expansive, benevolent planet, Jupiter, which urges us to expand our mind and our worldview.

Sagittarius and Pisces are the astrological signs connected to the Sacral chakra, and those with these signs placed prominently in their chart may need to focus more on this chakra, ensuring that it remains balanced and cleared.

When your Sacral chakra is balanced, you’ll feel more confident, sensual, and self-assured.

Read This Next: The Soul Chakra: The Chakra You’ve Been Ignoring

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra, also known as Manipura, is located near and behind the navel. The Solar Plexis chakra deals with our confidence, personal power, will, discipline, and identity. The color that represents this chakra is yellow, and it’s ruled by the assertive, aggressive planet Mars.

Aries and Scorpio are the planets linked to the Solar Plexus, and if these planets play a significant role in your chart, you may want to pay extra attention to this chakra.

If your Solar Plexus is out of whack, you may have a hard time making decisions, expressing yourself, or controlling your will.

The Heart Chakra

Anahata, or the Heart chakra, is located at the center of your chest, near your heart. The Heart chakra is concerned with love, vulnerability, compassion, and empathy. The color connected to the Heart chakra is green, and it’s associated with loving Venus.

The Heart chakra represents Taurus and Libra in the zodiac, and it is especially important to focus on this chakra if Taurus or Libra are influential within your natal chart. A balanced Heart chakra will help you establish and maintain deep, loving connections with yourself and others.

A blocked Heart chakra can inhibit your willingness to be open and affectionate with your loved ones.

The Throat Chakra

The Throat chakra is also known as Vishuddha, and it resides in the center of your neck, near your throat. The Throat chakra deals with communication, self-expression, and our ability to speak our minds. It’s represented by the color blue and the planet Mercury.

This chakra is connected to the signs Gemini and Virgo and should be monitored closely by those with these planets featured prominently in their chart. Without ample energy flow of the Throat chakra, you will find it difficult to express your thoughts and feelings to others.

However, a balanced Throat chakra helps you feel comfortable and secure in your self-expression.

The Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra, also known as Ajna, is located in the center of your forehead, in between your eyebrows. The Third Eye chakra is concerned with visions, wisdom, knowledge, and awareness. It is associated with the color indigo and both the Sun and the Moon.

Cancer, ruled by the Moon, and Leo, ruled by the Sun, are the signs associated with the Third Eye chakra. When this chakra is balanced and functioning properly, you’re like a sponge ready to soak up all of the cosmic wisdom available to you.

This chakra should be maintained to assist in meditation, spiritual activities and studies, and attaining higher wisdom.

The Crown Chakra

Sahasrara, or The Crown chakra, is unique in that it is not associated with any astrological signs, because it is quite literally out of this world. The Crown chakra is located at the crown of your head and associated with the rich, deeply spiritual color indigo.

The Crown chakra is our link to the gods, to the Universe, to that which is. It is connected to our spiritual center, our soul. Enlightenment is nearly impossible when the Crown chakra is out of whack, making this one of the most important chakras to pay attention to.

A balanced Crown chakra allows us to gain a deeper spiritual understanding of ourselves and the world around us.

Chakra Healing & Routine

There are many tools that can help you balance your chakras, such as crystals. In fact, some crystals are even designed to influence and cleanse each chakra, like this beautiful chakra pendulum. If you’re new to chakra work and unsure where to get started, this is the perfect metaphysical tool to begin your journey towards balanced, healthy chakras.

While your sign may be associated with a certain chakra, each and every chakra is important in maintaining an overall balance within your spirit. Chakra maintenance is a practice that you should try to work into your regular routine. It can be easy to forget how deeply our chakras affect our sense of self and our relationship to the world outside of us.

Even one misaligned chakra can send your attitude into a tailspin. So keep this in mind as you move forward into your astrological journey.

Read Next: Are Your Chakras As Balanced As You Think?

About The Author

Rhiannon Liselle

Rhiannon Liselle is a nomadic Sagittarius with a passion for writing and trying to help others grow. She’s studied astrology for about 10 years, and has been writing about metaphysical, spiritual, and esoteric subjects for 3 years. Rhiannon lives in the mountains of Colorado, and loves drinking coffee and spending time with her coloring books.
Did You Enjoy This Article?
Please Share It With Your Friends!

You Might Also Be Interested In

Scroll to Top
Thank You and Welcome!

Be sure to check your email as we’ve sent you important information regarding your Daily Horoscope. Read below to learn more about your zodiac.